Seal of Dane County County of Dane
Environmental Council


Field in September


Prairie Heritage Bike Trail Guide

The Prairie Heritage Trail is a 10-mile section of County Highway JG in western Dane County, Wisconsin. It begins in the Village of Mt Horeb and proceeds southward through the towns of Blue Mounds, Perry, and Primrose.

The Prairie Heritage Trail was originally sponsored in 1975 by the Dane County Bicentennial Commission. In that year, the guide received an environmental quality award from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The project to update the guide was sponsored by the Dane County Environmental Council and Dane County Highway and Transportation Department.

Download the Prairie Heritage Trail Guide

Yahara Lakes Water Trail Guide

The Yahara Lakes Water Trail Guide is now available! The Yahara Waterways Water Trail Project Team received an award for this environmental, historical, and cultural guide to the Yahara River from Cherokee Marsh to Lake Kegonsa.

Download the Yahara Lakes Water Trail Guide

Publication of this guide would not have been possible without the cooperation of many supporting partners.